kyliegoestocentralamerica

Just another WordPress.com site

Rollercoaster Ride. January 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — kgrader @ 8:43 pm

The past few days have been the craziest, emotional mess of my life. Until this point, Xela has felt not a whole lot different than anywhere else. I live in a super nice house, eat delicious food, and spend time with people I love every day. Sunday, things changed.

On Sunday morning we went to Momostenango to watch Themla y Luis (the cutest couple ever) weave. We learned how they create their products from the sheep to the finished item. They have 7 kids, all of whom weave every day, except the baby, Luis, because he is only 2. The other 6 kids go to school for a half a day during the week, then work the other half a day and work 12 hour days on Saturday and Sunday. They work so incredibly willingly and joyfully. They love their history and their work. Luis told us that each kid is allowed to have goals and pursue them, but if it doesn`t work out, they will always have a life waiting for them. They create the most beautiful blankets, bags, scarves, etc. The scarf I bought took 1 month to weave, and they only wanted $20 for it. Something seems unfair.

Monday, we watched a documentary…Reparando. We watched how a community in Guatemala City has been destroyed by poverty and gang abuse. We watched people pick through garbage in hopes of finding enough metal or plastic to buy them dinner. We watched Tita and Shorty love these people incredibly well. They are working with the community to first and foremost fill daily needs, but do so in the name of Christ. I have never been so angry, sad, hopeful, and blessed at the same time. I was crying tears of anger and tears of joy. It is amazing that in the most awful corners of the world, God is still at work. He leaves no one behind.

I left the documentary extremely confused about what I was supposed to do next. I can`t just sit back and continue to let the injustice occur. So that is when the Lord stepped in. As I was thinking about how badly I want to work with people who care enough to make a change, I received an email about an internship for this summer. It is an internship with the Murdock Charitable Trust and all summer long I will be introduced to leaders of non-profits, learning which path I am supposed to take. I think that God wanted me to know that when I go back to my wonderful life at home, I can still have a heart for serving, and I will have an outlet to do so.

To say the least, yesterday was one of the most exhausting days of my life. But, I think it was the beginning of something huge. My life is changing right before my eyes.

 

4 Responses to “Rollercoaster Ride.”

  1. Aunite Lainie:) Says:

    Wow Ky…..Amazing!!! How proud of you are we?????? The fact that you have figured this out at your age is awesome and you have no where to go from here but up and you are going to do incredible things with your life. I’m soooo proud to be related to you!!!!! Miss you and love you tons…..Auntie Lainie:):) XOXOXOXOX

  2. Kristin Clute Says:

    Kylie!!! I’m so stoked for you that you got that internship. That is such an answer to prayer and I know that you will grow tremendously there. Love you and love your updates!!! Kristin 🙂

  3. Christine Bernard Says:

    Ky thats so exciting. Im so happy for all the emotions that are going through you right now because thats always when it seems like God’s the most present! Love your blog litttle girl. Have fun 🙂

  4. Erik Aguilar Says:

    I am so glad that you had the oportunity to watch Reparando. I am from La Limonada the community where Shorty and Tita are working. I live in Los Angeles and we’ll have the screening on May 4th if you know anybody in this city please invite them so they can expereince what you have experienced. God is opening doors for you and He will take care of you always,keep doing what you are doing. God bless you.


Leave a Reply

